AWARDS SEASON 2022: Drama League Award Winners

Patrick J. Adams and cast in TAKE ME OUT. Photo by Joan Marcus.

The Drama League Awards were presented today, with outstanding production honors for the plays The Lehman Trilogy and Take Me Out and Kate Whoriskey for her direction of Clyde’s.

And as previously announced The Skin of Our Teeth‘s director, Lileana Blain-Cruz was the recipient of the Founders Award for Excellence in Directing and Willette Murphy Klausner, a producer for this season’s American Buffalo, for colored girls, Caroline, or Change, MJ: The Musical, the Gratitude Award.

Congratulations to the winners, as well as all of this year’s other nominees:

Outstanding Production of a Musical
A Strange Loop
American Utopia
The Hang
Kimberly Akimbo
MJ: The Musical
Mr. Saturday Night
Mrs. Doubtfire
Oratorio for Living Things

Outstanding Production of a Play
The Lehman Trilogy
Dana H.
Merry Wives
The Minutes
POTUS: Or, Behind Every Great Dumbass are Seven Women Trying to Keep Him Alive
Prayer for the French Republic
Selling Kabul

Outstanding Revival of a Broadway or Off-Broadway Musical
Caroline, or Change
Funny Girl
The Music Man

Outstanding Revival of a Play
Take Me Out
American Buffalo
Cyrano de Bergerac
for colored girls who have considered suicide/when the rainbow is enuf
How I Learned to Drive
Long Day’s Journey Into Night
Skeleton Crew
The Skin of Our Teeth
Trouble in Mind

Outstanding Direction of a Play
Kate Whoriskey, Clyde’s
Knud Adams, English
Saheem Ali, Merry Wives
Stori Ayers, Confederates
Camille A. Brown, for colored girls who have considered suicide/when the rainbow is enuf
Matthew Dunster, Hangmen
Jamie Lloyd, Cyrano de Bergerac
Sam Mendes, The Lehman Trilogy
Tyne Rafaeli, Selling Kabul
Taylor Reynolds, Tambo & Bones
Les Waters, Dana H.

Outstanding Direction of a Musical
Marianne Elliott, Company
John Doyle, Assassins
Lee Sunday Evans, Oratorio For Living Things
Michael Mayer, Funny Girl
Lucy Moss and Jamie Armitage, Six
Leigh Silverman, SUFFS
Niegel Smith, The Hang
Christopher Wheeldon, MJ: The Musical
Jerry Zaks, The Music Man

Distinguished Performance Award
Sutton Foster, The Music Man
Uzo Aduba, Clyde’s
Simon Russell Beale, The Lehman Trilogy
Shoshana Bean, Mr. Saturday Night
Gabby Beans, The Skin of Our Teeth
Victoria Clark, Kimberly Akimbo
Sharon D. Clarke, Caroline, or Change
Billy Crystal, Mr. Saturday Night
Matt Doyle, Company
Rachel Dratch, POTUS: Or, Behind Every Great Dumbass are Seven Women Trying to Keep Him Alive
Edie Falco, Morning Sun
Tyler Fauntleroy, Tambo & Bones
Beanie Feldstein, Funny Girl
Jesse Tyler Ferguson, Take Me Out
Myles Frost, MJ: The Musical
Adrianna Hicks, Six
Marin Ireland, Morning Sun
Nikki M. James, SUFFS
Ron Cephas Jones, Clyde’s
Joaquina Kalukango, Paradise Square
LaChanze, Trouble in Mind
L Morgan Lee, A Strange Loop
Jane Lynch, Funny Girl
Taylor Mac, The Hang
Brittney Mack, Six
Ebony Marshall-Oliver, 7 Minutes
Elizabeth Marvel, Long Day’s Journey Into Night
James McAvoy, Cyrano de Bergerac
Rob McClure, Mrs. Doubtfire
Kenita R. Miller, for colored girls who have considered suicide/when the rainbow is enuf
Bonnie Milligan, Kimberly Akimbo
David Morse, How I Learned to Drive
Deirdre O’Connell, Dana H.
Sarah Jessica Parker, Plaza Suite
Phylicia Rashad, Skeleton Crew
Ruben Santiago-Hudson, Lackawanna Blues
Arturo Luis Soria, Ni Mi Madre
Jaquel Spivey, A Strange Loop
Cecily Strong, The Search for Signs of Intelligent Life in the Universe
Will Swenson, Assassins
Julie White, POTUS: Or, Behind Every Great Dumbass are Seven Women Trying to Keep Him Alive
Jesse Williams, Take Me Out
Michelle Wilson, Confederates

Distinguished Achievement in Musical Theater
Hugh Jackman

Founders Award for Excellence in Directing
Lileana Blain-Cruz

Contribution to the Theater Award
Billy Crystal

Gratitude Award
Willette Murphy Klausner

The Drama League also wishes to acknowledge the previous recipients of the Distinguished Performance Award who appeared in Broadway or Off-Broadway productions this season. As the Award can only be won once in a performer’s lifetime, they are ineligible to be nominated; however, their exemplary work is recognized and applauded:
Hugh Jackman, The Music Man
Patti LuPone, Company
Mary-Louise Parker, How I Learned to Drive

Leave a Reply

Dishing out theater news and gossip from the Great White Way!

Become a Broadway Insider

Be the first to learn about Broadway news and announcements, read opening night reviews, and hear gossip and buzz! Subscribe, follow and join the conversation with other lovers of the Great White Way.